What a difference a change makes!

I love the encouragement of outside stimulation when it comes to doing things around the house.  Somehow someone else challenging you to go get those fingerprints all over the walls is different to looking at the walls and thinking, “I need to wash those fingerprints off.”  There is a sense of deadline, a feeling of comradely.  Others will be washing fingerprints today too.  I don’t know why, but it works for me!

So today I stopped by Home Sanctuary and checked out Rachel Anne’s “Small things for the Day.” Today it is voting day in America, a day of change.  I knew that.  Even here in NZ it has been on the news.  So the challenge was to find things around the house to change.  Rachel Anne mentioned lightbulbs, sheets and other such things, but I knew immediately what I needed to change first.  My attitude!

All morning I had been mooching.  This is not really good because around our house an affirmative answer to the question, “Are you mooching?” usually results in a job to do.  Funny, no one usually says yes – there is usually an energy change which occurs right before my eyes, a quick answer of, “No, I wouldn’t mooch!” and the offending party disappears to find something to do.  Good thing no one thought to question me this morning, because I was definitely mooching.  I have been struggling with some things lately and I somehow decided that between that and a few disturbed nights’ sleep I could wander through my morning aimlessly.  It wasn’t so much “I’m going to be kind to myself this morning and just go slowly” as “I can’t be bothered, do you have a problem with that!”

Wow, what a difference it made when I decided that, while I couldn’t change my circumstances, or even my response to those circumstances at the moment, I could change my attitude to the tasks of the day, and my family.  The day has been great ever since.  What other things have I managed to change?

  • the towels in the bathroom
  • washing from dirty to clean, wet to dry
  • a very messy nappy!
  • flour from raw to biscuits (cookies), a birthday cake and a slice
  • mince from frozen to 2 lasagnas (one for dinner, one for the freezer)
  • white animal shapes to black animal shapes.  (decorations for an animal themed party.)
  • a sad little boy, to a happy boy, with just a kiss!
  • a plaster on a sore little toe.

And if I get off the computer in time I may even manage to change all my dear husband’s shirts from very wrinkly to respectable, but I’m not making any promises on that one…I HATE ironing!  What a difference a change makes!

About justdabblin

Hi, I am a Christian woman, married to a great guy, who is the assistant pastor of a small church in Invercargill, New Zealand. We have 4 very active, outgoing children, whom we home educate. Our third child has Down syndrome and he keeps me very busy all on his own! I feel very busy and so I don't have time for a blog! So this blog is just for my own enjoyment and outlet and probably won't have a lot of input. If you happen across it I hope you may find something to make you smile.
This entry was posted in Faith and Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

