The Journey Begins…

“There is no way I would ever get a blog”

It is the eve of an auspicious day.  Tomorrow I will share my blog link for the very first time.  (Which actually means that when anyone reads this it will be today..or yesterday..or something. )  Over the last week I have made the journey from, “There is no way I would ever get a blog” to “Tomorrow I will debut my first post.”  Wow.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Blogs.  Read them all the time.  It’s just that, I have this sneaky suspicion that anything I would like to say has already been said.  And anything that hasn’t been said yet, I’ll probably cringe about and regret for years.

Just Dabblin

However, I’ve decided to dabble.  If only to satisfy my curiosity about how to create a blog.  So far this week I have learnt a lot.  I “customised” my own header and finally figured out how to put in new categories.  I managed to put borders around my pictures and I even managed to add my own little cupcakes to my post.  There is no way I will spend this amount of time on posts in the future but it has been a good experience just experimenting this week. I have also learned that I am very nervous about the “out there” nature of blogs.  Just don’t tell anyone I know that I’m doing this, OK?

Hobby or Obsession?

My excuse for starting this blog is so that I can participate in Amy Bayliss’ Homemaker’s Challenge.  One post, once a week.  That’s it.  A hobby right?  Only one week into it and my mind was buzzing  last night about all the different things I could post about.  I started with Amy’s challenge and it progressed!  Home educating a child with Down Syndrome, Life in New Zealand, Home educating and life fullstop!  And then there is my faith,the core of who I am.  The bit that ultimately defines me as a person.  I’d like to think that that will flow through everything else.  But whether any of those things actually appear here or not is still an unknown.  I do not want this blog to interfere with my REAL life – the life where I throw fake snowballs at my children and fall over because a really big one hit me.  The life where I enjoy playing scrabble with my husband, even when he beats me.  Keep reminding me “It’s only a hobby!”

So, the journey begins.  Thanks for being a part of it with me.  🙂

Do you have an suggestions for me on how to keep blogging “in it’s place”?  I’d love for you to leave me a comment and let me know it’s possible!

About justdabblin

Hi, I am a Christian woman, married to a great guy, who is the assistant pastor of a small church in Invercargill, New Zealand. We have 4 very active, outgoing children, whom we home educate. Our third child has Down syndrome and he keeps me very busy all on his own! I feel very busy and so I don't have time for a blog! So this blog is just for my own enjoyment and outlet and probably won't have a lot of input. If you happen across it I hope you may find something to make you smile.
This entry was posted in My Bloggin Journey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

