Thankful for Dry Undies?

Hi Everyone!  I am really enjoying Rachel Anne’s Home Sanctuary so I thought I would jump in this Friday for ‘Coffee with the Company Girls’.  I’m not usually a coffee drinker, but I’m sure you won’t mind if I substitute a strong hot chocolate and join you all.  Welcome and feel free to browse around and get to know me.  :)

As I read many of my favourite blogs and home education sites lately there is a growing sense of progress towards the “holidays”, the first of which is Thanksgiving.  We don’t do Thanksgiving here in NZ, well not as an official holiday anyway :).  But it is good every now and then to be reminded to be thankful.

One of the things I am very thankful for at the moment is that we are making small (oh so small) steps towards potty training with our youngest sons at the moment.  Davy is nearly 6 and it really feels like I have been changing his pants forever!  Between all the kids, with one  18 month  gap, I have been doing nappies for 11 1/2 years now so it hasn’t really been forever but it seems to be a long time.  With Daniel 2 now, and it coming into Summer here, we’ve taken the plunge properly with the two little guys and there is some progress.

In the midst of all the praise and rewards going on here the other day my 11 year old asked me, with a slight grin, “Are you impressed that I have dry undies Mum?”  I grinned back and said, “No!  But I am very thankful for it!”

It was only a very short exchange but it got me thinking. (I’m a thinker, my mind is efficient!  Give it one little thought and you never know where you’ll end up!)  How thankful was I really?  Boy, if I had to change 4 kids pants everyday, and do all the washing involved… No thanks!  When Jonathan was 2 I was greatly thankful for those days we had dry undies.  I’m sure that lasted quite a while at the time.  But then I got used to it. Took it for granted even.  I’ve even reached the point where I get grumpy if he has an accident.  (We all have those moments we laugh so hard… you know what I mean.)

I wonder how many other areas of my life follow a similar path.  After I’ve been unwell I feel so thankful to be able to run, to do the little things I couldn’t.  But gradually over time I take good health for granted.  Until I reach the point where I get grumpy at God the next time I feel unwell. There are so many things God blesses me with that I have grown accustomed to, which I don’t stop to thank Him for.  Just at the moment, I’m not feeling very thankful for a number of things.  I need to work that one through with God, but in the meantime I may just make it a habit, every time I wash out another pair of pants, to take time to thank Him for the dry undies in the house and for all the other blessings He has abundantly given me, especially all that I have in Christ.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.”  Ephesians 1:3

Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 Biblica. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved.

About justdabblin

Hi, I am a Christian woman, married to a great guy, who is the assistant pastor of a small church in Invercargill, New Zealand. We have 4 very active, outgoing children, whom we home educate. Our third child has Down syndrome and he keeps me very busy all on his own! I feel very busy and so I don't have time for a blog! So this blog is just for my own enjoyment and outlet and probably won't have a lot of input. If you happen across it I hope you may find something to make you smile.
This entry was posted in Faith and Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful for Dry Undies?

  1. Diane says:

    It is so easy to miss all of the everyday blessings God gives us; I know I have a tendency to look at the things I perceive as missing, rather than at what He has given me. Finding an everyday trigger for gratitude – a certain song on the radio, a glimpse of a special picture, a pair of “accident” pants ;) sounds like a good thing!

Leave a Reply

