What Excites Me Right Now?

Stephanie,over at The Candid Pastor’s Wife is doing a series at the moment on knowing God’s purpose for our lives.   As this is a new blog and people don’t know me very well I thought it may be an interesting way to embarrass myself totally let you get to know me a bit better by “just dabblin” with these questions a little.  (Hey, I’m just new at this, I’m not going to spill all my beans in one go!)  Today I’ll attempt Q1. Here are all her questions:

We are currently brainstorming the answers to four questions in an effort to discern God’s will in our lives. After each question, I will also evaluate if my answers are in line with being a “living sacrifice” and having a “renewed mind”. To review, the questions are:
  1. What excites you most in your life right now?
  2. How are you currently attempting to connect with God on a regular basis?
  3. Where are there gaps in your life? A longing for doing something differently? Or doing something new?
  4. How have you answered the question “What is your purpose” in the past? How do you feel like that has changed or not changed?

What excites me most in my life right now?

At the moment I am excited to see how God is working in my life. This year has been one of the hardest years of my life for a number of reasons and I haven’t enjoyed all that God has done or the means He has used.  But.. I am excited that He is working and that I can trust that all these things are drawing me closer to Himself and equipping me to be just the person He needs me to be now and for the future.  I am also very aware that there is so much more work to be done.

As a part of this process I am learning to figure out who I am and I am excited to be trying  to find the woman God delights in. I have always dabbled in trying to figure out colours and styles that suit me and a number of factors have come together lately to help me take some new steps in this area.  I am conscious of not allowing ‘outward looks’ to take over the inner beauty I desire but I am also learning that God created the whole of me and that I can take some time and effort to feel good about the outer me too.

I have also started a blog, mainly to participate in Amy Bayliss’ Homemaker’s Challenge, but due to very sad circumstances in Amy’s life this series is taking a break so my blog has developed in other ways instead.  I’m enjoying writing but I’m still unsure over whether this is the right way for me to use my time.  This one is still a “pray and see”.

I’m excited to see other women  excited about studying scripture and growing in faith. Due to the circumstances of the year I have nearly pulled out of leading the Bible Study I facilitate on a number of occasions but circumstances and my senior pastor haven’t allowed me to do that :).  I am thankful for that, as preparing for those studies and those evenings  in fellowship around God’s Word have been a blessing and a lifeline at times.

I’m excited to see how God will use me as Peter’s wife (Pete is Assistant Pastor of our church) within the church community as I slowly venture out of the “safe place” my “homeschooling Mum, with a child with Down syndrome” role has given me.  I am thankful that, apart from this Bible Study, which I actually love doing, I have had no pressure on me at all to “do” any pastor’s wife things.  We have an amazing congregation who have just accepted me as me.  But now that I am starting to figure out how to do that too, I am realising that I want to make myself more available for God to use.  Watch this space…

I look at these things and realise that I am in a “renewing stage” in my life at the moment and I am excited to see where God will take me. Many of the things I am learning are not new for me but I am starting to apply the truth of them to my heart.  I guess none of these things really direct me to see what God’s purpose for me is, except to let me know that His purpose for me is to walk with Him and be the woman He created me to be along the way.

About justdabblin

Hi, I am a Christian woman, married to a great guy, who is the assistant pastor of a small church in Invercargill, New Zealand. We have 4 very active, outgoing children, whom we home educate. Our third child has Down syndrome and he keeps me very busy all on his own! I feel very busy and so I don't have time for a blog! So this blog is just for my own enjoyment and outlet and probably won't have a lot of input. If you happen across it I hope you may find something to make you smile.
This entry was posted in Faith and Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Excites Me Right Now?

  1. I’m so glad you’re joining me! I know the questions seem a little undirectional, but I hope you’ll see the things that he has given you a passion for – those are the things you might need to prioritize even more! Or they might not be… stay tuned!

  2. Jodie says:

    Hi, Just a brief note to thank you for sharing your thoughts in your blog.
    I came over here after seeing one of your entries for the Homemakers Challenge and was excited to see someone else from this side of the world (I’m in Australia!).
    I know that you are new at this but I wanted to let you know that I’ve certainly been encouraged by many of your thoughts and insights so far – and looking forward to more!!!

Leave a Reply

